Then There Were Four

England, Bangladesh, India and Pakistan are the ICC Champions Trophy semi-finalists.

England dominated Group A, beating Bangladesh by eight wickets, New Zealand by 87 and Australia by 40 runs. Joe Root leads the England runscorers with 212 (averaging 106), while Liam Plunkett has eight wickets at 20.37.

Bangladesh qualified for their first CT finals with a five-wicket win over New Zealand. Chasing 266, Shakib Al Hasan (114 off 115 balls) and Mahmudullah (102 not out off 107) compiled 224 for the fifth wicket. They were lucky rain saved them from an almost certain loss against Australia. Their reward is a tough semi-final against India at Edgbaston.

Defending champions India topped Group B with wins against Pakistan (by 124 runs) and South Africa (by eight wickets). The South African win was dramatic, with the South Africans – at 1/116 – losing 9/75. Shikhar Dhawan (78 off 83) and Virat Kholi (76 not out off 101) helped India cruise to victory.

After an opening loss to India, Pakistan beat South Africa by 19 runs and Sri Lanka by three wickets. They’ll have to get past England in the Cardiff semi-final to go any further.

It should be an England v India final at The Oval; England’s home ground advantage will give them a big advantage.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: