Australian domestic cricket schedule released

Cricket Australia has released the domestic Sheffield Shield and one-day fixtures for 2017/18.

Though dwarfed by the Big Bash, the Shield and one-day cup – both sponsored by Jardine Lloyd Thompson insurance brokers – will be vital in an Ashes year. Both competitions will be streamed through the Cricket Australia website and app.


Like previous years, the one-day cup runs for a month, starting 27 September, with the final on 21 October. Featuring all six states and the Cricket Australia XI, games will be played in Brisbane, Perth, Hurstville, North Sydney, Drummoyne and Hobart (which hosts the final regular season game, the elimination final and the final). With the Australian team back from Bangladesh, hopefully the best Australian players will make an appearance to prepare for the Ashes.


The new Shield season starts on 26 October with Queensland hosting defending champions Victoria at the Gabba. There will be nine Shield games before the opening Ashes Test on 23 November, with the first round exclusively day-night games. The Shield runs until December before a month-long Big Bash hiatus, returning in February with the final in late March 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: