The Sheffield Shield home stretch

The Sheffield Shield returns on Thursday February 8 after nearly two months off for the Big Bash.

New South Wales (three wins, one draw, one loss, 24.94 points), Queensland (2-2-1, 21.42) and Tasmania (2-1-2, 19.64) are in contention for the final (starting March 23). Western Australia (1-2-2, 17.56) and South Australia (1-2-2, 16.06) aren’t far behind, while triple champions Victoria (0-4-1, 13.11) are unlikely to make it four straight Shield titles.

NSW earned first spot with wins over South Australia (six wickets), Western Australia (171 runs) and Queensland (six wickets). Queensland defeated Victoria (110 runs) and Tasmania (seven wickets), while Tasmania beat South Australia (142 runs) and NSW (10 wickets).

Queensland host Tasmania at the Gabba from February 8. The winner will take a big step to securing a finals spot. NSW host Tasmania at the SCG from February 24. NSW host Queensland in their final round robin game – at Wollongong – from March 14.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: