Adelaide win first BBL title

The Adelaide Strikers have won Big Bash League 07, beating Hobart Hurricanes by 25 runs at Adelaide Oval.

Jake Weatherald scored 115 off 70 balls as Adelaide made 2/202. He compiled 140 for the second wicket with Travis Head (44 not out off 29).

Veteran fast bowler Peter Siddle took 3/17 as Hobart made 5/177, with D’Arcy Short (68 off 44) and George Bailey (46 off 33) top scoring.

The Sydney Sixers won the WBBL title, beating Perth by nine wickets, the Sixers’ second straight title.

Sarah Coyte (3/17) and Erin Burns (2/26) dismissed Perth for 99 at Adelaide Oval.

Alyssa Healy (41 off 32), Elysse Perry (36 not out off 42) and Ashleigh Gardner (22 not out off 16) guided Sydney to 1/100.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: